Devotional

Tuesday Devotional

Trust God from the bottom of your heart. Don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go.  He’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all.  Run to God! Run from evil!  Proverbs 3:5-7

 

It takes a lot to grow up in a sinful world.  First, we learn the “Golden Rule” and then we learn the “Platinum Rule” and then we find out neither rule works all the time.  One of my professors at Trevecca Nazarene University told my class one time “The more you know, the more you’ll find out you don’t know.”  Therefore, it is that I spend half of my days, saying, “I didn’t know that.”  I grew up as a very insecure little girl, called out of my name mostly because of my ugly facial features. Mentally shielding a secret that caused terrible headaches and premature bedwetting until the age of seven years old, I considered my life so onerous and torn.    What happened to me made me ashamed, and I felt unlovable. As I grew, I grew to hate myself, the mere imagine in the mirror caused me to turn away in disgust. The reason I grew to hate myself was that I thought I should have had control, but I was only a little girl.  I had to learn to forgive in a BIG way.  After reaching adulthood, I went in search of answers, ALL THE TIME, and came to rest upon the words of Jesus.  I thought Jesus had forgotten about me when all the time the abyss that I fell into Jesus was there yes when the bottom fell out of my life; He was there at the bottom to catch me.  I’m glad I learned that Jesus will go to the depth of Hell to rescue one of His own.  For that thing that happened to me so long ago, wounds healed because I forgave the other person and God allowed me to forgive myself.  The devil tried to do permanent damage, but the Lord took that muck and made me whole.  If you are suffering something, if you are in a place that seems lonely and dark “don’t let nobody tell you that God ain’t there with you”!

 

Leave a Reply

